职业案例研究

Denver

焊接培训评估师及培训师和技术顾问

潘得路足迹:

英国沃克索普

加入潘得路

2018

他们口中的潘得路……

成长、厚重、知识、动力。

职业经历

离开学校后,我加入了英国陆军皇家运输部队,并在北爱尔兰服役六年。1986 年,我离开陆军并成为一名 HGV 司机,之后进入了铁路行业,从一名拖拉电缆和铺设地槽的护路工人做起。然后,我在 Jarvis 接受培训,成为一名助理焊工,工作两年后加入 Weldarail 并在那里工作了 18 年,之后加入潘得路。

我目前的职责

持续培训我们的员工,以确保我们的焊接技术和能力符合客户的标准。由于有些员工来自其他公司,因此我们的培训非常实际而严格,我们使他们能够在为期 10 天的密集课程中成为助理焊工。

挑战和成就

加入潘得路带来了我所面临的最大挑战:在从事钢轨工作多年之后,要学会熟练操作计算机。我最大的成就是,看着我的实习生从对焊接一无所知,到 10 天后成为一名具备相应技能的助理焊工。帮助别人在事业上取得进步让我产生了巨大的成就感。

优势和志向

毫无疑问,我最大的优势就是能够耐心地教导别人,并传授我的知识。在这个行业培训人员是一项艰巨的工作,经常要面对 3000 度的高温。

我一直的愿望是尽可能地培训更多人,传授我的知识。

为什么选择潘得路?

我的年龄!我今年 58 岁,因此我很乐意接受一个退出一线工作的机会。我喜欢潘得路给我的这个机会,我可以培训并鼓励未来焊工成为最好的自己。

业余生活

我的爱好是打高尔夫球,尽管我只是两年前才开始,但我怎么也打不够。在打高尔夫球之余,我喜欢玩室内长球道撞柱游戏和五人制足球赛!我喜欢花时间陪伴我的孩子和孙子们。

我的愿望清单几乎已全都实现,剩下要做的唯一事情就是与大白鲨一起游泳。

新冠病毒

我们的全球团队正在努力为客户提供支持,并避免冠状病毒造成的干扰,同时防止进一步扩散并保护我们的员工。


阅读我们的声明

Career Case Study

Denver

Welding Trainer Assessor and Trainer & Technical Advisor

Pandrol Site / Location:

Worksop, UK

Joined Pandrol

2018

Pandrol, in Their Words...

Growing, massive, knowledge, driven.

Career history

After leaving school, I joined The British Army Royal Corps of Transport and did a six-year tour of Northern Ireland. In 1986 I left The Army and became an HGV driver before moving into a career in the railway, where I started as a Trackman, cable pulling and laying troughs. I then trained to be an Assistant Welder at Jarvis where I worked for two years before joining Weldarail, where I worked for 18 years before joining Pandrol.

My role today

To continuously train our people to ensure that our welding skills and competencies match our customer standards. The training is practical and rigorous as some people come to us from other companies and we enable them to become an Assistant Welder in a ten-day intensive course.

Challenges & achievements

Joining Pandrol presented me with my biggest challenge – becoming computer literate following years of working on the tracks. My biggest achievement is when I see one of my trainees coming in from the street and leaving 10 days later with the skills to be an Assistant Welder. Knowing that I have helped people to move on in their careers is a great accomplishment.

Strengths & aspirations

Undoubtedly my biggest strength is my ability to patiently teach other people and pass on my knowledge. It’s a tough job train people in this industry, often at 3000 degrees.

My continuing aspiration is to train as many people as I can, passing on my knowledge.

Why Pandrol?

My age! I’m 58 this year, so an opportunity to hang up my tools was one I was delighted to accept. I love the opportunity Pandrol has given me to train and encourage the welders of the future to become the best they can be.

Life outside work

My passion is playing golf and although I only started two years ago, I can’t get enough of it. I enjoy playing indoor long alley skittles and five-a-side when I can fit it in around the golf! I love spending time with my children and grandchildren.

My bucket list has nearly been achieved, the only thing left to do is to swim with the great whites.

COVID-19

Our global teams are working hard to support our customers and avoid disruptions from the COVID-19 virus while at the same time preventing further spread and protecting our people.


Read our statement